My Voting Experience!!!

As usual, I waited to the very last minute to apply for an absentee ballot. Luckily, the Registrar’s office in Suffolk, Virginia was prompt in returning a ballot to me. My friend’s and I have been discussing a theory called “The Bradley Effect”. Forgive my loose definition but basically people will act as if they support the more socially desirable candidate but in reality they vote for a different candidate. I was afraid that when I opened my ballot I would be scared to vote for Barack Obama. I didn’t know if it was fear of the unknown or what. When I finally did open the ballot I was actually so happy to vote for him!!! The only unfortunate thing was that I did no research on the candidates for smaller offices do I just voted Democratic the whole way. =o( I voted because I want to make history with this election. We already know how bad things are under the current administration so why not try something new. Even if the situation in the U.S. only slightly improves, it will still be better than the present…

Everybody vote tomorrow!!!!!!!

4 Responses to “My Voting Experience!!!”

  1. mjleach87 Says:

    First, I want to say much love to the Hampton Roads area haha, I’m from Virginia Beach. But I’m glad you addressed the Bradley Effect, which goes a bit more in depth than what you mentioned, but personally I think it’s a pseudo idea. Good to see that you actually took the extra step to fill out an absentee ballot. Hope you enjoyed the experience!

  2. granite543 Says:

    Good for you for voting! Its a little extra trouble to vote when your away from home but obviously it was well worth it. This election, there were more and more young people voting (and people who wouldn’t normally vote in general) because of how important and impactful (word?) this election was. Whatever the reason, its great to hear about such a great voter turnout.

  3. ditto624 Says:

    I felt the same way you did. I have never heard about the Bradley Effect but I know that when I went to vote on Tuesday, I was a little scared about voting for Obama. I’m not sure exactly why but I’m sure some of it had to do with always identifying myself more with the Republican party before this past year. I’m glad you actually made the effort to vote absentee and I’m extremely happy about the outcome of the election!

  4. nccjen Says:

    I had only heard of the Bradley Effect when I was watching the Daily Show the night of the elections. I thought it was just a joke until I googled it a moment ago. But I’m glad you voted for who you want to.

Leave a comment